top of page

Starting and Running a Dog Business

Ever since I was little I wanted to work with dogs just because I loved them, so in college I did Animal care and spent 2 years getting qualifications. I worked in a few kennels as work experience and employed by them. But I found them really catty and couldn't get along with the staff, so I had to reluctantly do other jobs like office work and retail.


At the beginning of 2003 I thought there was a gap in the market , because there was no dog walkers around. I knew I still wanted to work with dogs so I became a part time dog walker alongside my retail job, but 6 months later I got very busy and couldn't do two jobs and so I left retail and did dog walking full time down in Rustington. I got myself a van and kitted it out with cages and advertised more. I really enjoyed the job, got some lovely dogs I walked everyday for years. I got really busy and successful but then I got married and pregnant so I had to stop when I was 6 months pregnant, I had to give up some of my dogs early on as one rottweiler pulled me over.


I decided after 13 years off being a full time mum I wanted to start again working with dogs again, I had to wait until my youngest child was 5 to get a licence and so I took a canine first aid course, investigated all the insurances I had to acquire and phoned up the council on how I would get my licence. The council women came out and inspected my premises and was pleased with everything and so in 2017 I got my first yearly license. I had to research on how to do all the paperwork,what forms I would need and my pricing.


On my opening day on the 9 jan 2017 I was lucky to have my first paying customer, but after that I had a lot of advertising to do, so I went to all the vets in the area and put my cards up on their notice boards, I went leafleting with the family to all the houses and posted on social media, to all local groups. I managed to get a few clients but there were some dire months with no customers at all. I kept on advertising on facebook and google ads which I found most effective. In 2018 when the new rules from Defra came out I was awarded 3 stars and 2 year license.


There were times when dogs didn't work in my house setting. I've had dogs cry all night and I've had to sleep downstairs where I've said to the customer's unfortunately the dog doesn't work and I've had to decline them. But slowly I got my regulars who have come back to this day. And in my element I've had 6 dogs in the house which I have always dreamt off. I've had dogs be sick, not house trained and not settled. I have been bitten by dogs and my child has been growled at and that's when dogs don't work.


In March 2020 Covid hit the UK and the national lockdown was in place and I had to shut down for 3 months, I was very busy before I closed with a day care dog every day and the whole summer booked up. But when I opened up again I lost everyone apart from 2 day care clients, I had to give deposits back, and put the deposits of existing clients for the next booking. I did have a few boarding clients after I opened up again I had to adapt to the whole Covid situation with dog parking station , had to buy leads, collars and beds as I can't use any of the clients stuff. I also had to buy specialized wipes to wipe down dogs and disinfectant. I was only open for a short time for new customers. In Oct 2020 I got my license renewed and now I have 5 stars with a 3 year license.


Now in January 2021 we are still in national lockdown since Dec and I'm still not opened for new customers because I can't do a proper meet and greet as people are not allowed in the house, I still have my two day care clients and the bookings in Aug from last year.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dog Insurance

I won't mention any company names but I've had positive and negative experiences with dog insurance. First experience ever was with my first adult dog I got in 2008, first of all the company wouldn't

Dominance Theory Debunked

When I was in college in the late 90's the canine studies teacher taught us the pack theory in dogs and how we have to be the pack leaders to our dogs, the pack theory was discovered by Robert Schenke

My dog is Friendly!!

I bet everyone has been in this situation, your dog is on the lead and a dog comes bounding up to you and your dog, the owner says "shes friendly" and whether or not your dog is ok with other dogs its

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page