top of page

Puppies are not just for Lockdown!!!!

I've seen an influx of puppies being brought and the extortionate rates of puppies because they have become a popular fad to get during lockdown. I am writing this in the Covid-19 pandemic 2021 where the whole country is lockdown, where the restaurants, schools and most shops are closed and the only thing you can do is go for a walk that's why getting a puppy is the must thing. But people don't think about when the offices go back and then they will have a dog with no social skills put straight into places like me ( a day care ) or a dog walker and its been left a couple of hours per day or even worse they have no time especially the high energy breeds and they surrender the dog to a shelter when they are already full to the brim.


When I brought my dogs in 2007, 2014 and 2017, cavaliers were £600 and my goldendoodle was £1000 which I thought was an expensive price for technically a cross breed. But now you can't find any breed for under £1500 and the cross breeds like cockerpoos , shipoos etc are now no less then £2000 and have priced a lot of people out of the market so normal working families can't afford them.


When I got all of my dogs I thought about the impact it would have on our lives, cost, insurance and where we will be in 10 years. How big the house is and do I have time for a puppy and walk everyday, luckily the answer for all those questions I'm aware of and I go out everyday rain, snow or sun.


I went on a behaviour course a couple of years ago and the lecturer said always get a dog to suit your lifestyle eg, don't get a great dane or border collie for a flat, get a smaller dog which is not as intense like a cavalier and working breeds like retrievers and boxers always like to do a job or go out walking for hours , if you can't do that because you work 7 hours a day then get a smaller dog.


So when someone in your family wants a dog, please think about it properly and go through all the pro and cons about getting a dog because its a big commitment for at least 10 years maybe 15.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dog Insurance

I won't mention any company names but I've had positive and negative experiences with dog insurance. First experience ever was with my first adult dog I got in 2008, first of all the company wouldn't

Starting and Running a Dog Business

Ever since I was little I wanted to work with dogs just because I loved them, so in college I did Animal care and spent 2 years getting qualifications. I worked in a few kennels as work experience and

Dominance Theory Debunked

When I was in college in the late 90's the canine studies teacher taught us the pack theory in dogs and how we have to be the pack leaders to our dogs, the pack theory was discovered by Robert Schenke

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page